SkillPort
 Print

Previous Topic

Next Topic

Working with Assignment Groups

Only super administrators can enable or disable the assignment groups feature as a whole.

If this feature is enabled, in order to see the assignment groups on your site, you must have the Assignment Group Access custom privilege. If you have this custom privilege, then the specific capabilities available to you for managing them depend on your role.

Company Administrators can:

  • See all assignment groups on the site. Moreover, they can see all users within those groups.
  • Manage all aspects of assignment groups. They can create, specify the members of, assign content to, delete, and report on assignment groups.

Administrators and Managers can:

  • See all assignment groups on the site. However, within those assignments groups, they can only see the users that they have the privileges to see and manage, namely, the users in normal groups and advanced groups (or in one of their child groups) in which the administrator or manager is also a member.
  • See a read-only view of the content assignments for all assignment groups.
  • Add and remove users from assignment groups, but this capability is limited to the users that they have the privileges to see. They cannot perform any other operation on assignment groups.
  • Select from all assignment groups on the site when running reports, but the report output is limited to that for the users that they have the privileges to see and manage.

Note: If your site has been configured to expose the Assignment Group Access custom privilege, by default the privilege is granted to company administrators but not to administrators or managers. As a result, if the privilege is removed from a company administrator or granted to an administrator or manager, the user's privileges are considered to be customized, and, therefore, a custom user icon is shown for the user. For images of the custom user icons, see Group and User Icons.