SkillPort
 Print

Previous Topic

Next Topic

Custom User Privileges

An administrator user has access to specific features in the Administrator tool based on his or her user profile. If your site has been configured to support it, you can further define a user's access to administrative features by customizing their user privileges. As you do so, keep in mind the following:

  • If you clear a privilege check box (to remove the privilege for the user), all subordinate privileges are no longer available to the user. For example, if you clear the "Users & Groups" check box, the user will not be able to access any of the user, group, and asset assignment features.
  • If a privilege is removed for a user, the user cannot access the related feature in the main Administrator UI.
  • By default, only super administrators have the privilege to delete users and groups. To grant this privilege to users with other administrator or manager profiles, you must customize the user's privileges as described in this section and make sure to select the check box for the privilege.
  • You cannot customize user privileges for users with the Super Administrator profile.
  • You must have the privilege yourself in order to grant that same privilege to other users.
  • Users with a Manager profile cannot set custom user privileges for other users.
  • Users with custom privileges are represented by icons that include a wrench, for example, custom Admin for custom administrators.

To create a user with custom administrator privileges

  1. Click Users & Groups | User Management on the navigation panel.
  2. Navigate the tree of user groups, and select the parent group for the new user.
  3. Click New User at the top of the page.
  4. Enter the appropriate information in the fields provided.
  5. For Role, select Company Admin, Admin, or Manager.
  6. Beside Role, click Customize.

    The Privileges dialog appears, which lists the privileges available to the user based on the selected role.

  7. Select and clear the appropriate boxes to customize the user's administrator privileges.
    • Configuration: Provides access to Configuration area of the Administrator tool.
      Multiple Completion Access: Allows the user to set specific courses to allow multiple completions.
      Notification Access: Provides access to the Notification Management area of the Administrator tool. This privilege is granted by default to company administrators, but it can be revoked. It is not available to administrators.
      Delete Email Template: Allows the user to delete email templates. This privilege is not granted by default to company administrators, but it can be granted. It is not available to administrators.
    • Display: Provides access to the Display area of the Administrator tool.
    • Users & Groups: Provides access to the Users & Groups area of the Administrator tool.
      User/Group Info: Allows the user to view and edit user and group information.
      User/Group Delete: Allows the user to delete users and groups.
      Catalog Assignment: Allows the user to assign (expose) assets in the Skillport Catalog to users and groups.
      My Plan Assignment: Allows the user to assign assets to My Plan for individual learners and groups.
      Enrollments and Waivers: Allows the user to enroll users and groups in learning programs and grant associated waivers for specific assets in those learning programs.
      Books24x7 Assignment: Allows the user to assign (expose) Books24x7 collections to users and groups.
      Assignment Group Access: Allows the user to see and manage assignment groups, where the specific capabilities granted depend on the user's role. This custom privilege only appears if your site has been configured to support assignment groups.
    • Content: Provides access to the Content area of the Administrator tool.
      Catalogs: Allows the user to make changes to the Skillport Catalog.
      Course Evaluations: Allows the user to create and manage evaluations.
      Learning Programs: Allows the user to create and manage learning programs.
      Keywords: Allows the user to create and manage keywords. This privilege is granted by default to company administrators, but it can be revoked. It is also available to administrators, but it is not granted to them by default. It is not available to managers.
      Skillsoft Publisher: Provides the user with access to perform Publisher-related tasks. The user must be an Admin or Company Admin to be granted this access.

      General Publish: Allows access to Skillsoft Publisher.
      Passive Content: Provides the user quick access for publishing passive content.

    • Reports: Provides access to the Reports area of the Administrator tool.
  8. Click OK.
  9. Click Save in the lower-right corner of the page.