SkillPort
 Print

Previous Topic

Next Topic

Existing Completions

When you select the Mark completed courses as Frozen option, any existing course completions are marked to permanently maintain their status of COMPLETE once your Skillport database is re-summarized.

You should select this option:

  • if you intend to change the completion criteria of courses (for example, by raising or lowering the minimum score), but you do not want the changes to impact users who have already completed affected courses based on the old criteria.
  • when you are replacing one course with another from the catalog, but want to give credit to the users who have completed the original course.

Preserving existing completions is a permanent action; if you later disable the option (by clearing the check box), all completions that have been frozen are still marked as COMPLETE.

Example

Consider the following scenario:

  1. You set the global (company-wide) completion criteria as follows:
    • Recalculate existing completions with the new criteria = This is selected.
    • Minimum Score = 75
    • Scoring = Course Scoring
    • Visitation = No
  2. Learner A ends a course session for Course X, and a score of 80 is reported to SkillPort. The course is marked as COMPLETE based on the defined criteria.
  3. You change the value for Minimum Score to 85 and have SkillSoft Technical Support re-summarize your database.
  4. When the database is re-summarized, the completion status for Course X is reevaluated based on the new criteria. Learner A's score does not meet the minimum score, so her course completion status is changed to STARTED.
  5. You change the value for Minimum Score back to 75 and have SkillSoft Technical Support re-summarize your database.
  6. When the database is re-summarized, the completion status for Course X is reevaluated based on the new criteria. Learner A's score exceeds the minimum score, so her course completion status is changed to COMPLETE.
  7. You select Preserve existing completions (instead of Recalculate existing completions with the new criteria), click OK, and have SkillSoft Technical Support re-summarize your database.
  8. When the database is re-summarized, Learner A's completion of the course is preserved, that is, it is permanently marked as COMPLETE.
  9. You change the value for Minimum Score to 90 and have SkillSoft Technical Support re-summarize your database.
  10. When the database is re-summarized, even though Learner A's score does not meet the new completion criteria, her completion status remains unchanged because her completion for Course X has been preserved.