SkillPort
 Print

Previous Topic

Next Topic

Course Restart (Course-Specific Only)

If you have courses that learners need to complete on a recurring basis, you can select the Allow Multiple Completion option in order to partially automate the creation of new progress records for learners:

  • If you select this option, a learner can launch his most recent completion of the course for the purpose of restarting or continuing the course. Restarting the course creates a new record in My Progress that counts toward the next completion. Continuing the course allows the learner to re-enter the last completion with the goal of changing and improving its score. Immediately after the learner launches the last completion, he is prompted to choose whether to restart or continue the course.

    Be aware that if the Enable Forced Restart web site switch is set to Yes, and you set this setting for a course, learners can still launch the most recent completion. However, this automatically creates a new record in My Progress that counts toward the next completion. In other words, learners must restart the course; they are not given the option to continue (re-enter) the last completion.

  • If you do not select this option, a learner can still launch his initial completion of the course. However, doing so only allows the learner to re-enter the initial completion for the purpose of improving its score. The learner cannot create another completion record.

Note: Unlike when you change a course's completion criteria, when you make a change to only the Allow Multiple Completion option, you do not need to have Skillsoft Technical Support re-summarize your database.

For more information on assets that can be restarted, see Assets That Learners Can Restart.